Governor Dayton Appoints COMPAS Board Member Marta M. Chou as District Court Judge in Fourth Judicial Court

December 16, 2013
ST. PAUL, MN – Today, Governor Mark Dayton announced the appointment of Marta M. Chou, Nicole A. Engisch, Thomas S. Fraser, Carolina A. Lamas and Bruce D. Manning as District Court Judges in Minnesota’s Fourth Judicial District. The appointees will be filling vacancies created upon the retirements earlier this year of the Honorable John L. Holahan, Jr., the Honorable William R. Howard, the Honorable Marilyn J. Kaman, the Honorable Richard S. Scherer and the Honorable Lloyd B. Zimmerman. These judgeships will be chambered at Minneapolis in Hennepin County in the Fourth Judicial District.
“These five new judges were selected from over seventy well-qualified applicants,” said Governor Dayton. “Ms. Chou, Ms. Engisch, Mr. Fraser, Ms. Lamas, and Mr. Manning are all highly accomplished legal professionals.  I am confident that they will serve very well the citizens in the Fourth Judicial District."

Marta M. Chou: Ms. Chou currently serves as counsel for the Litigation Department at Barnes & Thornburg, L.L.P., where she represents businesses and individuals in complex litigation matters. Previously, she was an associate at Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi, L.L.P., and was an adjunct professor at the William Mitchell College of Law. Ms. Chou earned her B.A. from the Honors Program of the James Madison College at Michigan State University and her J.D. from the University of Wisconsin School of Law. Additionally, Ms. Chou is a member of Twin Cities Diversity in Practice, serving as co-chair of its Professional Development Committee, and is a former chair of the Diversity Committee of the Minnesota State Bar Association.

Congratulations Marta!